A Team Of Experienced Attorneys

You don’t just get backing and support of your attorney. You get an entire team.

3 reasons to fight a reckless driving charge in North Carolina

On Behalf of | Sep 20, 2021 | Traffic Violations |

Traffic infractions can have real legal consequences, even if people don’t take them as seriously as they should. In North Carolina, anyone who drives carelessly might find themselves accused of reckless driving. 

If you face allegations of reckless driving, there are plenty of very compelling reasons to defend yourself against those charges, including the three issues below.

Reckless driving could cost you your license

Acquiring 12 points on your license within three years or adding eight points to a license within three years of a previous suspension well results in the administrative suspension of your license. 

Reckless driving will add four points to your license, which might be enough to push you over the limit or put you at risk of losing your license the next time a police officer pulls you over.

Reckless driving could actually lead to jail time

Unlike most traffic infractions, which only result in a fine, reckless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor. Not only might you need to pay $1,000 just in fines, but you could also go to jail for up to 60 days. Defending against the reckless driving charge rather than pleading guilty could help you avoid incarceration and hefty fines.

As a misdemeanor, reckless driving can haunt you for years

Traffic infractions typically don’t affect background checks, but reckless driving allegations will. Those who plead guilty to reckless driving will have a misdemeanor criminal record that might affect their employment opportunities and their insurance costs in the future. 

Defending yourself against a serious traffic infraction like reckless driving can protect your license and may actually save you money when you look at the long-term expenses related to that charge.