Smith, Dickey & Dempster P.A.
Available 24 Hours A Day. Call 910-849-2364.

What to know about workers' compensation in North Carolina

Do you understand workers' compensation and your right to file a claim after a workplace accident? Unfortunately, many workers in North Carolina are unfamiliar with the workers' compensation process in North Carolina and the importance of filing a claim to receive benefits.

Frequently asked questions about workers' compensation

Workers' compensation can play a significant role after being injured in a work-related accident. To help you better understand the basics of workers' compensation, here is a list of common questions and answers you need to know. 

What should I do after being injured at work?

You are required to notify your employer about the accident in writing and orally within 30 days of the accident.

Where can I get medical treatment?

Your employer or their insurance provider will dictate where you will receive medical treatment for your work injuries. You can request to change physicians if grounds are shown and your request is approved.

When will I receive compensation for lost wages?

In North Carolina, injured workers will receive 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly pay (not exceeding $978) following the first seven days after your injury. You are eligible to receive payment for the first one to seven days if your injury exceeds 21 days.

How long can I receive benefits?

You are eligible to receive workers' compensation benefits until you are able to return to work.

What can I do if my claim is denied or refused by my employer?

You can request a hearing before the Industrial Commission to challenge the denial of your claim.

Do I need a lawyer to file for benefits?

An attorney can help you complete your workers' compensation claim and make sure nothing is missed. However, you do not need an attorney to help file a workers' compensation claim. If your claim has been denied, it is beneficial to work with a workers' compensation lawyer to help you appeal the decision in a timely fashion.

These are just some of the frequently asked questions workers have about workers' compensation in North Carolina. Familiarizing yourself with some of the basic concepts will help you know what action to take in the event of workplace injury and help you better understand some of the challenges you may run into while filing a claim.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Tell Us About Your Case

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Office Locations

Fayetteville Office
309 Person Street
Fayetteville, NC 28301

Phone: 910-849-2364
Phone: 910-484-8195
Fax: (910) 484-9333
Fayetteville Law Office Map

Hope Mills Office
3202 North Main Street Suite 108
Hope Mills, NC 28348

Phone: 910-849-2364
Phone: (910) 491-1370
Fax: (910) 484-9333
Hope Mills Law Office Map

Lumberton Office
411 East 2nd Street
Lumberton, NC 28358

Phone: 910-849-2364
Phone: (910) 272-8525
Fax: (910) 484-9333
Lumberton Law Office Map